Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
Drone Law and Regulations Update
Topic:
Join A Panel Of Government And Industry Experts For Discussion On The Latest Developments In UAS Law and FAA Regulation Policy
Date and Time:
Tuesday, September 20, 2022, starting at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT; 18:00 MDT; 20:00 EDT; 14:00 HST; 16:00 AKDT; 17:00 Arizona; Wednesday, September 21, 2022 00:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Dawn Zoldi, Karen DiMeo, Jonathon Rupprecht, Grant Guillot, Kevin Morris
Brief Description:

This presentation from P3 Tech Consulting’s Law-Tech Connect Workshop, co-located with the Association of Un-crewed Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) XPONENTIAL 2022 in April, focuses on the latest developments in the U.S. UAS law and FAA regulation and policy. Attorneys and industry leaders, including the FAA’s “Drone Guy'' provide their expert insights into the rules all remote pilots need to know and what they believe  is on the horizon in UAS law and regulation. 

Topics included;
- The recreational flight test, 
- Operations over people/at night and over moving vehicles, 
- Beyond Visual Line of Sight Aviation 
- Rule-making Committee Report, 
- Part 135 drone deliveries, 
- Remote Identification Rule and 
- Unmanned Traffic Management CONOPS.

NOTE: While many of the ideas covered in the quiz are included in the presentation, you may need to utilize the course resources below for additional information.

Select Number:
CE03116617
Webinar Information
To ACCESS this Broadcast - CLICK HERE
REGISTRATION is Not Required - There is no limit to the number of viewers for this program.
UNABLE TO ATTEND THE LIVE BROADCAST? You may access the ARCHIVED program at any time after the LIVE Broadcast via the link above on virtually any internet connected device.
WINGS CREDIT is earned immediately after passing the knowledge quiz on the FAA Safety website via 2-Step EZ-WINGS process. The link to the FAA WINGS Course Quiz is in a "post" on the right side of the linked page noted above.

Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Aeronautical Proficiency Training
Phone: (314) 787-7454
john@teipen.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

PRESENTERS

DAWN ZOLDI (Colonel, United States Air Force Retired) is a licensed attorney, an U.S. Air Force veteran and the founder and Chief Executive Officer of P3 Tech Consulting, connecting people who have a passion for advanced tech platforms with the plans, programs, policies and information they need to succeed. Ms. Zoldi was admitted to the Bar of the Supreme Court of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1992 and commissioned through direct appointment in the Air Force in July 1993. In her almost 25 years of active duty as a member of the Judge Advocate General’s Corps as a military attorney, she performed a myriad of duties at various command echelons in the continental U.S. and deployed forward. 

She is an internationally recognized expert on unmanned aircraft systems and advanced air mobility law and policy, listed in the eVTOL Insights 2022 Powerbook, one of the Top 100 Women in Aerospace and Aviation to Follow on LinkedIn 2021 & 2022, and a recipient of the Woman to Watch in UAS.

KAREN DiMEO has 30 years of experience in the aviation industry from both government and industry, Karen recently served as the Head of Policy and Government Affairs for AiRXOS Inc., GE Aviation’s drone technology focused company. At AiRXOS, she was responsible for the development, management, and communication of strategic policy positions for emerging regulatory issues. Her role included creating and maintaining liaison with executive government stakeholders, key industry partners, and external customers.

Previously, Karen was the Senior Technical UAS Advisor at the FAA’s Office of the Deputy Administrator where she provided technical expertise to support the oversight of strategic plans for the agency’s enterprise-level UAS initiatives, integration progress, and scientific and research activities.

JONATHAN RUPPRECHT is a drone lawyer and a FAA-certificated commercial pilot with single-engine, multi-engine, and instrument ratings. He is also a FAA-certificated airplane flight instructor and instrument flight instructor. He currently is a contributor to Forbes.com for Aerospace & Defense.

He has helped clients in obtaining 130+ waivers (including swarm and over people), 54 airspace authorizations, 54+ exemptions, and 16 operating certificates. He has assisted in litigation regarding civil and criminal defense cases involving drones (invasion of privacy, reckless operation, etc.).

GRANT GUILLOT is the Vice President for Regulatory Affairs at DroneUp, where he oversees federal, state, and local regulatory matters impacting the company’s UAS operations. Prior to his position with DroneUp, Grant spent 12 years in private legal practice, during which he most recently advised drone manufacturers and companies that provide UAS services, as well as companies operating in industries using drones. He has been featured on Fox Business and Fox News to discuss the opportunities and challenges arising from drone use. Grant is the host of “Drones in America”, a video podcast produced by MarketScale, which explores how drones are improving lives and impacting various end-user industries.

KEVIN MORRIS is a subject matter expert on UAS operations, coordinates UAS communications for the Federal Aviation Administration. Previously, he worked in the FAA’s Flight Standards Service, developing regulations, policy and programs for UAS. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Aviation, from St. Cloud State University, an Airline Transport Pilot Certificate, Remote Pilot Certificate and is a Certified Flight Instructor.

A native of Minnesota, Morris is passionate about embracing new technology and empowering the drone community to operate safely.

Credit Applicability:
FAASTeam Project Information:
National Project:
Any other Operations task not covered in the NPP
Additional Event Documents: