Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
NAFI - Understanding Slips and Skids
Topic:
Join Mark King And Brian Schiff As They Separate Fact From Fiction During Their Presentation 'Understanding Slips & Skids'
Date and Time:
Wednesday, June 15, 2022, starting at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT; 18:00 MDT; 20:00 EDT; 14:00 HST; 16:00 AKDT; 17:00 Arizona; Thursday, June 16, 2022 00:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Brian Schiff and Mark King
Brief Description:

Brian Schiff and Mark King's previous MentorLIVE presentation, “Understanding Stalls and Spins” planted the seed for this new presentation “Understanding Slips and Skids”

Join Mark and Brian as they discuss;

  • Cross controlled:  what does that really mean?  
  • Skidded turns:  what really happens and how do we avoid them?  
  • When can a slip be a life-saving maneuver?  
  • I’ve stalled in a slip: “What now?” 
  • Can we turn in a slip?  
  • How can I control speed in a slip?  
  • What’s different between a forward slip and a side slip?  
  • What about slipping with flaps?  

Access the previous MentorLIVE program "Understanding Stalls and Spins" HERE

Select Number:
CE03113156
Webinar Information
To REGISTER for and ACCESS this NAFI MentorLIVE! Broadcast - CLICK HERE
UNABLE TO ATTEND THE LIVE BROADCAST? You may access the ARCHIVED program at any time after the LIVE Broadcast via the link above on virtually any internet connected device.
WINGS CREDIT is earned immediately after passing the knowledge quiz on the FAA Safety website via 2-Step EZ-WINGS process. The link to the FAA WINGS Course Quiz is in a "post" on the right side of the linked page noted above.

 


Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Aeronautical Proficiency Training
Phone: (314) 787-7454
john@teipen.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

BRIAN SCHIFF - Presenter

Brian Schiff is a major airline captain. Schiff’s roots are deeply planted in general aviation where he has flown a wide variety of aircraft (97 types). His total flying time exceeds 20,000 hours. He is on the Board of Directors of the National Association of Flight Instructors (NAFI) and is a 35-year Gold Seal flight instructor and FAA Safety Team Representative.

MARK KING - Presenter

Mark King is a full-time flight instructor at a well-known Southern California flight school, CP Aviation in Santa Paula. Over 3000 of his 8000 hours of dual given have been devoted to emergency maneuver training (UPRT), tailwheel, and aerobatics.  He holds an FAA Gold Seal flight instructor certificate with single, multi, and instrument ratings and Master CFI (Aerobatic) designation.  

Mark has extensive Alaska flying experience, has provided training for Federal, State, and County agencies in UPRT, and has taught UPRT and aerobatics in Europe. Mark is also a Cirrus Standardized Instructor Pilot (CSIP) and an active member of the International Aerobatic Club and participates in competitive aerobatics in a Pitts S2B and flies a Beech Bonanza and a Cessna 140 for pleasure.

RON TIMMERMANS - Host

Ron Timmermans earned his Private Pilot Certificate in 1972, and went on to add Commercial, Instrument, CFI/MEI, ATP, and Remote Pilot. Shortly after earning a CFIIA/MEI-IA, Ron became a Beechcraft Pilot Proficiency Program Ground and Flight instructor

Ron is the 2021 FAA National Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year, and has been selected by AOPA as a professional ground instructor for the ‘Rusty Pilots’ program, Ron now makes presentations to reach long inactive pilots to encourage their return to flight. 

Ron is a FAASTeam Lead Representative giving monthly presentations on GA safety topics, has given many Young Eagle rides, has authored training curriculum, and has developed flight instructor standardization guides, published articles, and served in leadership positions on the American Bonanza Society Board of Directors.

NAFI MENTORLIVE!

MentorLIVE is the National Association of Flight Instructors monthly Live Broadcast airing on the third Wednesday of every month at 8:00pm Eastern Time. These programs feature subject matter experts from many aspects of the flight instruction industry to help CFIs be more successful in their training endeavors.

To learn more about MentorLIVE and to access previously broadcast WINGS programs, click on this link https://www.nafinet.org/mentorlive

Credit Applicability:
1 Credit for Master Knowledge Topic 1
FAASTeam Project Information:
National Project:
Any other Operations task not covered in the NPP
Additional Event Documents: