Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
We are in a hurry --- so we GAME the system --- at our peril !!!
Topic:
Flying safely without a plan ... yeah RIGHT !!!
Date and Time:
Friday, January 28, 2022, starting at 18:00 Pacific Standard Time (19:00 MST; 20:00 CST; 21:00 EST; 16:00 HST; 17:00 AKST; 19:00 Arizona; Saturday, January 29, 2022 02:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Bob Katz
Brief Description:
YOU are the Pilot in Command of a Learjet 35A  Air Ambulance. It's been a long day. You successfully transported your patient to SNA and now you want to get home. The sooner the better. It's well after dark. So you accept an Approach Clearance to a runway that is undesirable rather than take a few extra minutes to properly set up for the longer runway you intend to land on. It's your privilege to Cancel IFR as the Wx at SEE is: VRB05KT 3SM BR BKN020 OVR026 10/08 The Tower acknowledges your cancelation, instructs you to overfly the airport and clears you to land RWY 27R. Now constrained by the limitations of VFR; You find yourself in the squeeze between the BKN ceiling above and the Urban Sprawl across rising terrain below. You Yank & Bank in the pattern only to find yourself in an Accelerated Stall while Diving & Driving ... into the ground. Any regrets ???!!!???
 
Join us tonight as we explore this most recent Loss of Control tragedy that took the lives of 4 people including 2 very dedicated health care professionals simply along for the ride. We will review what is known and clearly speculate on the effect of the possible causes to learn from the mistakes of others and our own past experiences. There is much to learn from the facts, not in dispute. No good can come from this senseless loss unless and until each of us makes the personal choice to recognize the teachable moment that comes with every incident and take the initiative TO learn. Your mission is to bring your knowledge, skills and experience to the discussion as we hash out an effective alternative strategy to conduct this flight to a safe landing; Given what we have to work with.  This is an exercise in Aeronautical Decision Making you don't want to miss.
 
"The pilot community has experienced every conceivable means and method to destroy our aircraft and ourselves since the Wright Brothers discovered powered flight 118 years ago. We are not inventing any new ways to do it.  We continue to make the same foolish aeronautical decisions repeatedly because we choose to make the conscious decision to not learn from the mistakes of others and our own past experiences. It is critical to our survival that we, as a community of pilots, think twice about the consequences of our actions before we ring another bell that cannot be unrung"  --  Scott Allen  FPM, HNL FSDO  WP13
Select Number:
WP25109571
Webinar Information
FAA ZoomGov Meeting. 
Date and Time: Friday, January 28, 2022, starting at 1800 Pacific Standard Time (1600 HST, 1700 AKST, 1900 MST, 2000 CST, 2100 EST, and 0200 GMT)
Optional ways to join are: 
 
Click to Join:
https://faavideo.zoomgov.com/j/16104614415
• Passcode: 509778
• If prompted, accept the Zoom application as instructed. 
 
Mobile Device:
• Download the ‘Zoom Cloud Meetings’ App. 
• Select ‘Join a Meeting’ and enter Meeting ID: 161 0461 4415
• Passcode: 509778
 
Phone Audio Only:
• Call 1-888-924-3239; enter Meeting ID: 161 0461 4415
• Passcode: 509778
• Unmute or mute yourself by pressing *6.
 
Traditional VTC Room System (Via Polycom, Tandberg or Cisco): 
• Dial/Call the following IP address 161 0461 4415@ sip.zoomgov.com (No Spaces)
• If Applicable, with passcode: < 161 0461 4415 >< . >< Passcode: 509778 > @ sip.zoomgov.com 
• Press #1 to bring up the menu to unmute, mute, change the view and additional features.
• There are many makes/models of traditional VTC room systems. For an easy ‘how to connect’ your system document, contact FAVES Customer Support. 
 
 
 

Seating:
300 seats at the facility, 64 remaining for online registration.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
PAUL KOSCHEKA
Phone: (916) 719-6808
Paul.Koscheka@faa.gov
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):
The FAASTeam wishes to extend their gratitude and special thanks to Bob Katz for making this presentation possible and in conveying safety principles and practices in encouraging a positive safety culture within the aviation community.
Credit Applicability:
Basic WINGS
½ Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 1
1 Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 1
FAASTeam Project Information:
SAS Activity Event: WP25202200509
National Project:
Topic of the Month
Additional Event Documents: