Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
November Topic of the Month - CFIT and Overreliance on Automation
Topic:
Controlled Flight into Terrain (CFIT) Accident Precursors in General Aviation
Date and Time:
Wednesday, November 4, 2020, starting at 16:00 Eastern Standard Time (13:00 PST, 14:00 MST, 15:00 CST, 11:00 HST, 12:00 AKST, 14:00 Arizona, 21:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Dr. Kimberly L. Metris, FAASTeam Rep
Brief Description:

Even though technological advances in situational awareness have dramatically reduced the frequency of General Aviation (GA) Controlled Flight into Terrain (CFIT), accident data reveals that reliance on automation is a known precursor to CFIT events. Indeed, a pilot’s over reliance on automation can lead to pilot complacency, degraded hand-flying competence, and eroded confidence.

In this webinar, we will discuss several CFIT accident precursors including inadvertent and continued Visual Flight Rules (VFR) into instrument meteorological conditions (IMC), wire strikes (not limited to agricultural flying), IFR procedural mistakes, and unrealistic aircraft performance expectations (e.g., high density altitude, weight and balance considerations, tailwinds on approach, etc.).

We will focus what we can learn from CFIT accident data and how awareness of automation limitations and pilot proficiency in flying are key to safe flight operations. We will also discuss best practices to maintain our flying skills and ultimately reduce general aviation accidents. This webinar will be presented by Dr. Kimberly Metris, a tail wheel aircraft owner and skydive pilot.

Select Number:
SO13102284
Webinar Information

Hello!

You are invited to a scheduled Zoom webinar meeting.

 

Topic: FAASTeam November Topic of the Month – CFIT and Overreliance on Automation

Time: November 4, 2020 04:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

 

Register in advance for this meeting:

https://clemson.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAuc-Cspj8jG9FDl6EAR9J1Hy2uWBkdKNeV  

 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.


Seating:
100 seats at the facility, 54 remaining for online registration.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
SC FSDO FAASTeam
Contact Information:
KIMBERLY L. K. METRIS
Phone: (864) 391-6930
kkanapec@gmail.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

Special thanks to Clemson University for IT Zoom support.

Credit Applicability:
1 Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 3
FAASTeam Project Information:
NPP14
National Project:
Any Safety Event held based upon data/risk
Additional Event Documents: