Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
Breaking the Chain - Running The Skud- with LtCDR Alex Scott
Topic:
Breaking the Chain - Running The Skud
Date and Time:
Tuesday, October 20, 2020, starting at 19:30 Central Daylight Time (17:30 PDT, 18:30 MDT, 20:30 EDT, 14:30 HST, 16:30 AKDT, 17:30 Arizona, 00:30 GMT)
Speaker(s):
LtCDR Alex Scott, US Coast Guard, CFI, ATP
Brief Description:

During this Webinar, we will receive a presentation from US Coast Guard H65 Dolphin and avid General Aviation Pilot - LtCDR Alex Scott

As fall proceeds on into the winter, we are seeing more days with low visibility and ceilings.  So the temptation to Skud Run to get to where we're going may surface. 

What is "Running The Skud"?  Why do some pilots find themselves in those situations?  What are some scenarios where pilots are tempted to find themselves in situations where they are flying low above the ground with very low overcast, resulting in impacting terrain?  What is the relationship with VFR, SVFR, and IFR to this topic?  Simply put, "Skud Running" isn't just dangerous, it's a deadly regime of flight that leaves no margin for error and greatly increases risk above any scale of justification from a risk management perspective in general aviation.  We're going to talk about all of these considerations and what the associated dangers are to ourselves, our passengers, and people on the ground by making poor aeronautical decisions like "Skud Running".

Come ready to learn and contribute to this discussion!

Select Number:
SW17102249
Webinar Information

Register in advance for this webinar:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_K_J9x3ARRk6FBMlJ5aO6HA

After the online registration, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about how to join the webinar.

Want WINGS Credit? - If attending we will grant Wings Credit by record of attendance with Zoom's statistical data. 

The WINGS Program (Officially, the Pilot Proficiency Program) requires Ground and Flight training to complete a Phase of WINGS and receive a Certificate of Proficiency.  Each WINGS Phase earned meets the Flight Review requirements of 14 CFR Part §61.56.  History has proven that Airmen who actively participate in the WINGS Program are safer, more proficient, and have a much lower accident rate than the General Aviation community.

Do you want more information?  Keep reading. 

If you are NOT registered in the WINGS Program, you can go here for more information - https://www.faasafety.gov/WINGS/pub/learn_more.aspx

If you want to participate in the WINGS Program, you can create a WINGS account here - https://www.faasafety.gov/login/reg/Register.aspx

 


Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
San Antonio FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Jeremy Walters
Phone: 386-316-9322
flyallamerican@gmail.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

Presented with thanks for technical assistance by Mr. Paul Nadeau

A special thanks to guest speaker LtCDR Alex Scott

Who is Lieutenant Commander (LtCDR) Alex Scott? In 2004, Alex graduated from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University and commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Army Medical Services Branch.  He was a HH 60 Blackhawk Medevac Pilot on 2 deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan.  In 2010, he left the US Army and joined the US Coast Guard as an officer so that he could continue to fulfill his calling of giving back by providing search and rescue to the American people.   He is currently serving as a HH65 Dolphin Helicopter pilot and holds the rank of LtCDR. Alex's roots in aviation began in general aviation and today he still participates in flying activities outside of the Coast Guard.  He is passionate about giving back in all realms of life - to include General Aviation.

Join us - You'll be glad you did.

Credit Applicability:
1 Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 3
FAASTeam Project Information:
National Project:
Any Safety Event held based upon data/risk
Additional Event Documents: