Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
Ten Secret Sights on the California Coast only Pilots can See and How to Fly them like a Pro
Topic:
Learn a new type of Coastal Tour from the eyes of a geologist and NOAA Research Pilot
Date and Time:
Thursday, August 13, 2020, starting at 18:30 Pacific Daylight Time (19:30 MDT, 20:30 CDT, 21:30 EDT, 15:30 HST, 17:30 AKDT, 18:30 Arizona, 01:30 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Wendy Kordesch
Brief Description:

 

California pilots are treated to the jaw-dropping beauty of the coast on a regular basis, but we bet you’ve never seen it like this. Join us, a former NOAA research pilot and a PhD Geologist, as we take you on a new kind of coastal tour to unlock ten secret sights you can only see from the sky. 

 

We’ll spice up your coastal flying with an aerial tour of history and wildlife spanning all the way from Mendocino to the Channel Islands and teach you ten easy to follow tips and tricks to keep you safe while you fly it. Learn where to spot whales and sharks, how to fly along the San Andreas fault, and hear wild stories of flying for science. We’ll cover all this all while learning how to protect our ocean treasures by flying safely over the coast.

 

All pilots are invited to attend this truly unique and fun opportunity. Don't miss out on this webinar a pilot recently called “one of the best I have seen in my 17 years of flying in the Bay Area.” 

 

CDR Matthew Pickett, NOAA (Ret) served twenty years providing operational support for research missions aboard ships, small boats, aircraft, and SCUBA diving, and rose to become Chief of the Remote Sensing Division Flight Branch. He flew a DeHavilland Twin Otter and Cessna Citation on far-flung missions including Arctic polar bear surveys, high-altitude mapping, and fisheries enforcement.    

After retiring from active flying, CDR Pickett served as the Operations Manager for the NOAA Collaborative Center for Unmanned Technologies and in 2016 co-founded the nonprofit Oceans Unmanned with the mission to facilitate the use of unmanned technologies for environmental research and monitoring.


Wendy Kordesch is the Outreach Specialist at the Seabird Protection Network, and builds partnerships with pilots to help wildlife thrive on our coasts. She holds a PhD in Ocean Science and has presented to dozens of pilots, flying clubs and organizations across the Bay Area, as well as the US Coast Guard. 


 

 

Select Number:
WP15101192
Webinar Information

Register at the link below to receive details to join webinar 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/887916520893563148

Wings credit will be automatically credit to you at the end of the webinar 

 


Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Karen Arendt
Phone: (408)795-4012
karen.arendt@faa.gov
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

Seabird Protection Network is committed to partnering with aviators on wildlife conservation.  In the pre-covid world, its staff regularly attended local air shows, and gave presentations to Bay Area flight clubs.  Their Monthly Aviator newsletter highlights stories at the nexus of aviation and conservation. 

Credit Applicability:
1 Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 3
FAASTeam Project Information:
NPP14 Topic of the Month
National Project:
Topic of the Month
Additional Event Documents: