Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this seminar or webinar. You may register by clicking the "Register" link. (Print-friendly version)

Title:
FLY-RITE Preflight Weather Risk Assessment Webinars - May 2020 Webinar Event Announcement
Topic:
We will cover preflight weather risk assessment and the unexpected tool for spotting thunderstorms.
Date and Time:
Sunday, May 31, 2020, starting at 22:00 Pacific Daylight Time (23:00 MDT, 00:00 CDT, 01:00 EDT, 19:00 HST, 21:00 AKDT, 22:00 Arizona, 05:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Delia Colvin
Brief Description:

Below are the webinar announcements and dates for all three of our webinars for the month of May 2020:

Intro to Weather Briefings

Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 

Avoid and Weather Risk Assessment

 

Please click on the event title below to view the details and register for the events you would like to attend. 

"Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.” Former FAA Administrator

Intro to Weather Briefings

Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.

In this 90 minute webinar, Delia will show you how to meet the FAA briefing requirements while ALSO developing skills that will allow you to make better decisions regarding flight. 

  • Learn the 6 elements you MUST CHECK in any brief
  • How to significantly reduce the mountain of needless data
  • How to use (and the value of)  the new graphical forecast for aviation
  • When severe weather doesn't qualify as an adverse condition

Plus we'll walk through a standard weather brief, followed by Q&A

Dates offered for this month:

Thursday, 21 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Thursday, 28 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Sunday, 31 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid

In this 60 minute webinar you’ll learn methods to do just that. Assess the potential hazards and how to avoid them.

•    The top resource for assessing potential turbulence or mountain wave.

•    Tools that most pilots rely on—that are not reliable (and what to use instead)

•    How to determine if thunderstorms will be a factor

•    Recognizing turbulence or LLWS even when it's not forecast. 

•    Identifying mountain weather hazards in areas with few reporting points.

Dates offered for this month:

Wednesday, 20 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

Saturday, 23 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 8:00 AM PDT/11:00 AM EDT

Wednesday, 27 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT

Weather Risk Assessment

In this 90 minute webinar (plus Q&A) Delia will demonstrate her method to clarify and add certainty to often conflicting weather information. 

    •    Learn the top tools to identify each of the six hazards

    •    The tool most pilots rely on—that is actually the LEAST reliable tool (and what to use instead) 

    •    How to identify “invisible” hazards.

    •    Recognizing LLWS even when it's not forecast. 

This is our level 3 class for more experienced pilots, however, it can also benefit low time pilots.

Dates offered for this month:

Monday, 18 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Monday, 25 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Friday, 29 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 9:00 AM PDT/12:00 PM EDT

 

We look forward to seeing you in these webinars.  Fly safe!

Select Number:
WP01100244
Webinar Information

ATTENTION EVERYONE!  This is the only notification of the events listed in this announcement that you will receive via email.  Please click on the link for the webinars you would like to attend to  register for the event(s).

Or register by going to: http://www.fly-rite.com/free-webinars

This change in notification is due to a policy change regarding the use of www.FAASafety.gov


Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Delia Colvin
Phone: (661) 333-9881
customerservice@fly-rite.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

Delia Colvin is a 15 year veteran of Air Traffic Control and Flight Service and the author of the Aviation Weather Made Easy series. She was Flight Watch qualified and has investigated the cause of many aircraft incidents/accidents in a professional capacity with Quality Assurance, as well as conducting countless Operation Take-offs for pilots around the country.

Delia Colvin and Fly-Rite volunteer to do these webinars for the aviation community through the FAA Safety office. Because of that, and to improve the webinar experience, Delia Colvin and Fly-Rite come out of pocket. To help cover these costs, Delia may spend a 5-10 minutes of the 60-90 minute presentation sharing products that pilots often request.  

Note:  Pilot airspace deviations continue to be a major risk in the national airspace system.  To reduce the chance that you might be involved in an airspace deviation incident, you are highly encouraged to take an on-line learning center course on http://www.faasafety.gov/.  Or search the learning library for associated guidance on airspace incursions.  Remember, safe and prudent airmen have superior situational awareness, and have a plan to keep it that way.

Thanks!  A message from your local FAASTeam.

Credit Applicability:
FAASTeam Project Information:
National Project:
Any Safety Event held based upon data/risk
Additional Event Documents: